What is the default delete behaviour when using the S3 Connector with S3 versioning enabled? - What is the default delete behaviour when using the S3 Connector with S3 versioning enabled? - Alfresco - Alfresco Content Connector for AWS S3 - Alfresco/Alfresco-Content-Connector-for-AWS-S3/4.0/Alfresco-Content-Connector-for-AWS-S3/Alfresco-Content-Connector-for-AWS-S3/Content-Connector-for-AWS-S3-FAQ/What-is-the-default-delete-behaviour-when-using-the-S3-Connector-with-S3-versioning-enabled - 4.0

Alfresco Content Connector for AWS S3

Platform
Alfresco
Product
Alfresco Content Connector for AWS S3
Release
4.0
ft:lastPublication
2026-05-06T14:39:40.311000
ft:locale
en-US
ArchiveStatus
Archived

AWS versioning-enabled buckets are completely transparent to Alfresco, so the standard delete activity should take place as defined in the node lifecycle. In summary this means:

  • when a user deletes content, the store changes to the Archive Store - nothing happens to the content
  • when a user deletes content from the Trashcan (or archive store), alf_node.deleted=1 and alf_content_url.orphantime is set
  • If the S3 deleted content store is enabled, theContentStoreCleaner copies the content to the .deleted directory and removes the content (by default after 14 days)
  • NodeServiceCleanup purges the remaining database information