The deleted content store support in Alfresco Content Services moves the deleted content (e.g. folders and files) to a dedicated location, contentstore.deleted (defined by the dir.s3.contentstore.deleted property). System administrators can schedule a job to delete the binaries from this location.
Deleted content store support provided by the repository vs. managed by S3 capabilities
Starting with version 3.1, the S3 Connector has the deleted content store disabled by default, since this feature is already present in Amazon’s S3 service.
However, you can enable the Alfresco Content Services deleted content store, if required. Just add a context file, such as enable-deleted-content-store-context.xml, in the extension directory:
$CATALINA_HOME/shared/classes/alfresco/extension
You can find a sample file in `alfresco-s3-connector-6.1.x.amp’:
- enable-deleted-content-store-context.xml.sample in config/alfresco/extension
This creates a proxy bean to the deleted content store defined in the subsystem. By doing this, the repository knows about it when the subsystem is started.
<bean id="deletedContentStore"class="org.alfresco.repo.management.subsystems.SubsystemProxyFactory">
<property name="sourceApplicationContextFactory">
<ref bean="${filecontentstore.subsystem.name}" />
</property>
<property name="sourceBeanName">
<value>deletedContentStore</value>
</property>
<property name="interfaces">
<list>
<value>org.alfresco.repo.content.ContentStore</value>
</list>
</property>
</bean>