If you’re an IT administrator, you can configure Desktop Sync client apps to enforce the sync of specific paths or Sites, and optionally enforce the exclusion of sub-folders for those paths or Sites. This allows you to restrict what your Desktop Sync clients sync by pre-selecting the sync folders.
When you add this configuration, users can’t select anything to sync as the Desktop Sync client hides the content selection dialog.
The properties to enforce sync are specified as:
test.path.<n> = <enforced-sync-path> test.siteName.<n> = <enforced-sync-siteId>
where <n> is an ascending index number starting at 1. These must be consecutive otherwise, if a number is skipped, all paths that follow are ignored.
The properties to enforce exclusion are specified as:
test.subfolderFilter.<enforced-sync-path> = <relative path to folder to be excluded> test.subfolderFilter.<enforced-sync-siteId> = <relative path to folder to be excluded>
Here’s an example of how these properties are configured:
test.path.1 = /Shared test.path.2 = /Sites/siteId/documentLibrary/folder3 test.path.3 = /User Homes/username test.subFolderFilter./Shared=folder8,folder9 test.subFolderFilter./User Homes/username=folder7
- The exclusion property test.subfolderFilter can’t be used on its own - it needs to be applied to one of the paths specified by test.path.<n>.
- If all enforced sync paths are specified incorrectly, then the content selection dialog is enabled.
- If, for example, one of two paths is invalid and one is valid, the content selection dialog is disabled and only the valid path is synced.
- If an excluded folder is renamed, then that folder will be synced after a restart.