Select content to sync on Mac - Select content to sync on Mac - Alfresco - Alfresco Desktop Sync - Alfresco/Alfresco-Desktop-Sync/1.21/Alfresco-Desktop-Sync/Using/Select-content-to-sync-on-Mac - 1.21 - 1.21

Alfresco Desktop Sync

Platform
Alfresco
Product
Alfresco Desktop Sync
Release
1.21
License
ft:lastPublication
2026-04-16T22:04:45.619000
ft:locale
en-US

Use the Select sites and folders to sync dialog to select the content to sync between Alfresco Content Services and your desktop. The content is synced to your /<userHome>/Alfresco folder, located in Finder under Go > Home.

If you work with content that has deep folder structures, you may wish to deselect the Include all files and sub-folders checkbox. This allows you to only sync selected folders deep in your hierarchy, without syncing the intermediate folders, and prevent lengthy folder paths being created. By default, this feature is enabled, and if you want to sync only particular folders then the checkbox has to be deselected. In this case, only the files in the selected folders are synced using a folder structure starting from their respective root paths in Content Services (such as My Files, Shared Files, and your Sites).

Here’s an example that shows how the folder paths may be shortened:

  • My Files > <selected-sync-folder>
  • Sites > <Site Name> > <selected-sync-folder>
  • Shared Files > <selected-sync-folder>

When the checkbox is selected (since it’s enabled by default), the folders are synced using the hierarchy in Content Services. This replicates the behavior from previous releases of Desktop Sync.

Note: The screen provides an estimate of how much disk space will be occupied, so only select the content you need. The more content you select, the more space will be taken on your computer and the more time it’ll take to perform the initial sync.
  1. Synchronize your content from My Files and Shared Files.
    1. Select My Files to expand the folder list in your My Files area of Alfresco Content Services.

      You can navigate through the folder hierarchy and click the check box to select individual folders, or select My Files to sync everything.

    2. Select Shared Files to expand the folder list in your Shared Files area of Alfresco Content Services.

      You can navigate through the folder hierarchy and click the check box to select individual folders, or select Shared Files to sync everything.

  2. Select Sites to expand the list of sites you are a member of in Alfresco Content Services, sites you have favorited, and sites with content that you have favorited.
    • Fully colored star indicates a favorite site or folder
    • Empty star indicates a site or folder that contains favorited content

    These are listed in alphabetical order, grouped by favorites, then sites with favorited content, and then other sites you’re a member of.

    • Select Sites to expand the folder list in your Sites area of Alfresco Content Services.

      You can navigate through the folder hierarchy and click the check box to select individual folders.

    • Select Company Home to expand the folder list in your Company Home area of Alfresco Content Services (if set up by your IT team).

      You can navigate through the folder hierarchy and click the check box to select individual folders.

      Note: It’s not possible to select all your Sites or all of Company Home as it’s likely to involve a large sync and may take a long time.
  3. Click Sync to start initial syncing of the selected files and folders to your desktop.
    Note: You can click Cancel to cancel selecting content and close the Select sites and folders to sync dialog.
    Note: During the initial sync, don’t disconnect your computer from the network or put your computer to sleep. Although the sync will resume if interrupted, it’s likely to need to check the content again, and very large initial syncs may take a long time to complete.
  4. In the Alfresco sync folder location dialog, choose where the sync folder is stored.

    The content is synced to <userHome>/Alfresco by default.

    1. To use the default location and start the sync, click OK.

    2. To change the sync location, select Browse…, choose a new location, click Select Folder, and then click OK to start the sync.

    Note: If you wish to move the Alfresco sync folder location later, you’ll have to remove your account and set up Desktop Sync again.
    Note: The sync folder location must be set to a local folder as network folders aren’t supported.