The Administration Portal allows you to change the name, type, and membership of an existing user group.
To modify a user group:
- Open the Administration Portal.
-
Do one of the following:
- From the Dashboard page, click Find User Group in the User Groups tile.
- Select the Identity tab under the banner. Then, click User Groups in the sidebar.
The User Groups page is displayed. -
Select the user group you want to update.
Tip: Use the Search Groups field to filter the list of groups.The user group information pane is displayed.
- Edit the name in the User Group Name field as needed.
-
Under Group Type, select Internal
or External.
Note: If you are changing a user group from Internal to External, you may need to take additional steps to ensure current users maintain their membership. For considerations, see Managing User Group Membership.
-
Under Users, add or remove assigned users as needed.
Note: If the user group is external, manual changes to group membership may be overridden when user information is synchronized with an external identity provider.
- To filter the list of unassigned users, start typing the user's name or email address in the Search users by name or email field.
- To assign a user to the group, select the user from the Unassigned list.
- To remove a user from the group, select the user from the Assigned list.
-
Click Save Changes.
The changes are saved, and a confirmation message is displayed.